Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: References in Shaun
Spaced Out Forum > Spaced > Spaced: Above and Beyond > Shaun of the Dead
Nikki1042
hey guys!

Im a media student who is starting preperations for her dissertation. on the effects of referencing in films, specifically shaun...

So my topic is the numerous references in shaun and how you as fans feel that effects your enjoyment.

Basically, i think personally that when i get a nod to another film/director or whatever that the film becomes more personal to me.

Any thoughts would be greatly appriciated
Omniscia
I don't know that I'd say it makes a film more personal to me, but more personable, certainly.

When you catch a Romero, or a Fulci reference, or what have you, not only do you get the initial enjoyment of the gag, but you get a nice, smug sensation of being in on the joke. It taps into a primitive area of the brain that directly influences the general sense of superiority nerds and film buffs alike feel over Joe Matinee and his popcorn-speckled ilk.

It doesn't break the fourth wall, but it acknowledges it, and helps draw you in.
shaka37
When I watch a movie for the first time, generally speaking, I go into a bit of a trance and I almost never pick up those kinds of subtle references unless they hit me over the head like a blunt object because I'm engrossed in the storytelling.